Great Expectations

2013 banner

Happy New Year!
Last night was a balance of celebrating with friends over dinner and then heading home to watch the ball drop in New York. Somewhere between coming home and climbing in to bed I made the decision that all leftover chocolate must go….into my mouth. It seemed like a good idea at the time.

Waking up this morning, I was thinking about the concept of resolutions. It doesn’t seem like the popular thing to do any more but of everything I’ve read, I think my favourite is from Wikipedia’s page where there is mention of Knights taking a ‘peacock vow’ to reaffirm a commitment to chivalry. Call me old fashioned but I’m OK with that.

Setting resolutions isn’t something I feel I need to do but a new year does make me think about all the things I want to try or do or be- at some point. For me, there is no need to panic and put all these things on the table RIGHT NOW. Heck, I don’t even know what ‘all these things’ are!
Having said this, here are a few things I would like to remember along the way:

  • Be patient with yourself
  • Routine things in life are actually pretty amazing;
  • Start small, water, grow;
  • Pay attention; and
  • Be brave!

Do you make resolutions?

2 thoughts on “Great Expectations

  1. I made a few small resolutions this year, though I mostly kept them to myself so as not to jinx them

    “Start small, water, grow” is a good one. I think that reflects the need for consistency, which we all struggle with. It’s a metaphor I use often, the need for growth while also strengthening one’s roots. On being brave, I’d say you got a good head start by starting a blog for the new year =)

    • Joe, thanks for the encouragement! You’re right about the consistency-I have learned over time that baby steps often result in amazing results and more importantly, an unforgettable journey.

Leave a Reply

