The Love of Running

first run of the year

This is me stretching before my first run of 2013, looking ridiculously over excited (or something)

It’s been a very long time since I last ran.  I have a compliment of 5K, 10K and half marathon’s under my belt but then graduate school took over and stole my time. That’s when I discovered 12 minute workouts. They saved me from what I lovingly refer to as ‘writer’s butt’ (caused from sitting for lengthy periods of time. Late at night. Possibly eating mindlessly and crying at the same time).

Now that school is finished, I have decided to reacquaint myself. My introduction to running was in grade 8 when the class had to run 2 miles around the track every week. I hated it. I like to think I’m not the only one who tried claiming their period pains were so bad they couldn’t possibly run. Oh please.

Fast forward to my 20’s, running solely for the purpose of weight loss. My first run was downhill and I thought I was going to die. Yes, it worked but something unexpected happened, I fell in love with it. Running has made me feel strong, challenged and inspired. It has introduced me to new friends.  I am shocked by how far I can run sometimes. I am also shocked that I still have my front teeth (tree roots can be hazardous). I have run through hot sun, early morning darkness, in solitude through the forest, up monster hills, from dogs off leashes, with thousands, through moments of great happiness as well as grief. I am allowed to spit, walk, compete, eat candies, cheer others and jump in puddles. Sometimes, I run scared (bears=surge of adrenaline). Other times, I visualize my stresses tumbling off behind me, unable to hang on. 

I treat my running with respect but I don’t take it too seriously. You will not find any gadgetry on me other than my Ipod shuffle every once in awhile. You can be serious if you want to.  That’s the thing, you can run any which way you want to!

My plan at this point is to run at least 3 times a week, starting with a walk run routine (if I feel like it). I will post about it on my 12 minutes  page. If you’re a beginner, I found some links here and here that have some plans you can follow.

If you’re not a runner (or you are) and you are looking for motivation to get out there, why not dedicate a walk or run to this little peanut, Mirabel? :

https://www.facebook.com/events/477046175670405/479145278793828/?notif_t=plan_mall_activity

 

8 thoughts on “The Love of Running

  1. I was just reading for pure entertainment…and then I saw your mention of Mirabel! Yea! I’ll place this link on the Facebook page. (assuming you haven’t already done so!)

    I’ll also reblog on my blog! My friend John, and his wife will be so excited

    I hate running, but love the freedom it appears to give runners. Our local highschool has an amazing cross-country team. We see them running all over our city, training for the next event. I’m always so envious at how empowering it must feel. Then again, I’m a bike rider. My husband prefers running and not biking. Go figure. He feels the same way about biking that I do about running. Since we live on a hilly terrain and roads w/bike lanes, we have many runners and bikers. Yet, walking the dog is enough for me these days! 🙂

    Sandi

    • Sandi, thanks for posting on FB as I hadn’t thought of that. My community is much like yours with runners and bikers everywhere. It is a great motivation seeing others doing something active. It is also great when you know that by doing it yourself, your helping someone on their journey!

  2. All I can say is, “Why is it January and you are running outside and there are no mountains of snow?” I am so jealous! And I love the idea of 12 min workouts. Sometimes you just don’t have time, but something is better than nothing.

    • Fern, I am a West Coaster which explains the rain. We don’t get much snow around here. I’ve found that 12 minute work outs are doable. Even when I’m not motivated (like tonight…) I can’t find an excuse not to take at least that amount of time out of the day! (note: please send me motivating thoughts in about an hour 🙂 )

Leave a Reply

