The Answer to Life, the Universe and Everything

Picture 4304

This week it’s my birthday. Usually I like it to fly under the radar unnoticed but there are a chosen few who (bless their hearts) know me well enough to remind me of its arrival. One of them is my immature younger husband who is always quick to point out the aging process as it applies to me. I generally brush off the ridicule, however this year,  it thankfully clarified a rather important point. My age.

Now, in my defence, I am terrible at math. I mean, really bad. I have no shame in finger-counting. So, when he rhetorically asked “How old are you going to be?” I should have just stuck with “29”. But I didn’t. I said “43”. Apparently, I’m not 43. Good news? I’m 42! (I don’t need you to tell me it’s not good news, my husband will oblige)

So in honour of this number, I present to you, various facts* that make it a rather prestigious number to be associated with:

  • Lewis Carroll used the number 42 repeatedly in his writings including Rule 42 in Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland (“All persons more than a mile high to leave the court”)
  • It is the number of kilometres in a marathon 🙂
  • 42nd Street in New York City is where Grand Central Terminal, the New York Public Library, and Times Square are located (I’ve always wanted to go to NYC)
  • The angle rounded to whole degrees for which a rainbow appears, and (drum roll please…)
  • 42 is a (2,6)-perfect number (super-multiperfect)(this is the only time you will ever witness me quoting anything mathematical in nature, Yes- it was me who bolded the words. No-I don’t have a clue what it means).

*Source is Wikipedia

6 thoughts on “The Answer to Life, the Universe and Everything

  1. so funny! I had it my mind that I will be 43 in March. Your post, made me rethink, counting on my fingers, and yup, I’ll be 42. Gasp, it’s one thing to age gracefully…it’s another to add years. Why do we do that? Happy Birthday, by the way! Hope it’s a good one.

Leave a Reply

