Wine of the Weekend

This weekend we received an invitation to a mystery wine tasting party. We were asked to bring a bottle of wine each; anything we wanted, and cover the label. My husband knew which wine he wanted to bring right away:

apothic red wine

$18.99

This past Christmas, a friend brought this wine over for dinner. My husband has been dreaming about it ever since. It is a blend of Zinfandel, Syrah, Merlot and Cabernet-everything but the kitchen sink is in here so I think it appeals to a lot of tastes in some way, shape or form.  It’s on the sweeter side and the tastes of chocolate and vanilla are very evident.

My wine choice was based purely on the fact that it is my maiden name:

robertson wine

$11.99

I hadn’t tried this wine and frankly, apart from the last name, I didn’t much care for it. It was very light and fruity which surprised me because as a Cabernet I was thinking it would be somewhat medium to full bodied. Interestingly enough, it got the highest marks from everyone.

It was a fun bunch of people and a great way to host a party because it really had us all mingling to make sure we sampled everything.

Hope you are having a great weekend. I don’t see a cloud in the sky and it looks like a perfect day to get a run in. Cheers 🙂

3 thoughts on “Wine of the Weekend

Leave a Reply

