Monday Memoirs

It’s Monday, meaning  I am recapping three things from last week that made an impression on me in some way shape or form:

  • I found the best vegetarian burger recipe ever over at Oh She Glows. Once upon a time, I was a vegetarian (for years actually) and when I was pregnant with my son, I reintroduced chicken, pork and seafood into my diet for protein. Every once in awhile I do eat red meat but not a lot. Lately, I’ve been thinking about returning to my vegetable roots. I baked these patties in the oven and they came out crispy. I see them becoming a staple 🙂

veggie burgers

Best veggie patties ever.

  • My friends forgave me. A couple of weeks back; we made plans with 3 other couples to go out for a nice dinner-no kids. On Saturday, I get a call from one asking if everything is ok. No, it’s not. Clearly I’ve lost my mind and completely forgotten we’re supposed to be at the restaurant RIGHT NOW. It wasn’t even on my radar. I felt really awful until they called back to say that they would forgive for a price-stopping by for a nightcap. So, we grovelled with an offering of chocolate Martinis and port (my new favourite). Lots of laughs were had and best of all, so was forgiveness.
  • I said goodbye. After 10 years, I decided to take a left turn into a new career. This week was my last week at work and I felt the love. Maybe they were happy to see me leave? I attended a lunch with all of my co-workers. They were so gracious to say nice things about me and send me on my way with gift cards to Starbucks and David’s Tea :), a beautiful tea mug and large bouquet of flowers. When walking back to the office with my flowers, a stranger asked ‘what did you do to deserve those?’ I said, ‘I gave notice, I’m leaving.’ She paused and said ‘that’s the funniest thing I’ve heard today.’ Me too. It felt weird saying it.

flowers 3

My goodbye flowers

Have a great Monday 🙂

Leave a Reply

