The House That Chose Us

It’s finally official! We bought a new home. Well, it’s actually not new, not even close. In fact, it’s a designated heritage home built in 1935. It’s got coved ceilings, antique doorknobs and fir floors. We will be renovating the kitchen and basement but otherwise, leaving it in its most beautiful state. A friend was kind enough to mention the website Houzz.com for decorating/reno ideas. Why oh why? I am now an addict. Seriously.

So far, this journey could not be more serendipitous. We started by listing our existing house during a time when the housing market is SUPER SLOW. Ours sold in about a month which shocked everyone, including the real estate agent.

When we were attending the house for inspection (prior to buying), a friend I haven’t seen for years drove past, stopped and offered up the moving boxes she’s getting rid of. Perfect timing!

Next, in searching the municipal website to understand what ‘heritage’ actually means (especially since we’re looking to renovate), my husband comes across a write up about the previous owner. Her significance in life is the reason for the home’s heritage designation. She was one of the first women to take on a specific role in the criminal justice system; the same role I happened to take on for a number of years also. Additionally, we share some other similarities that have me and a few people raising our eyebrows.

Could this be fate? The very spiritual part of me wonders if it’s possible these connections mean something. My husband will tell you ‘yes, they mean she’s nuts‘. Thanks Sherlock. But really, could it be that the house chose us?

If you don’t know this already, in addition to having a wild imagination, I am a also snoop. I love that I know the history of the previous owner. The fact that there is a fabulous story about a kindred spirit attached to my new house gives me a sense of comfort and makes me smile 🙂

5 thoughts on “The House That Chose Us

  1. i just love this post — i definitely believe that we cross paths with people and objects in our lives purposely & for a reason. clearly, this is the case with your new home!
    xxoo

Leave a Reply

