Monday Memoirs on Tuesday

I am a day late with my Monday post, looking back at three things from last week that stood out for me. Why?  Because I was having the best time ever celebrating the upcoming nuptials of a dear friend. Without further adieu here they are:

  • I survived my first week in a new job! It was really hard to leave my career for a new path but it sure  felt good to start learning something completely new and I am confident in my decision. Making changes makes me think back to when I was a kid and what I wanted to be when I grew up. Initially I wanted to be an archaeologist. Then, in high school it was a psychologist. Fast forward to my undergrad years, I wanted to be an occupational therapist, working with seniors. I still love being around seniors; such amazing people 🙂
  • The sun came out and the days got longer! I know the days started getting longer back in December but I didn’t really notice it the way I did this last week. It feels good to come home after work in daylight, especially with the sun shining.
  • I skied for the first time in almost 20 years! As a kid, I was lucky enough to ski regularly. My mom lived at the base of Cypress  mountain in Vancouver and we spent our winter evenings and weekends skiing. Then I went off to school, life took over and I lost touch with the sport. With a girls trip to Whistler planned, a friend suggested spending a day on the mountain.  Another friend was kind enough to lend me her gear and I was brave enough to buy a lift ticket. I am SO GLAD I did it. We couldn’t have asked for a better day! I was nervous at first but it turned out to be like riding a bike. If you’ve learned once, you’re good to go for the rest of your life. I may have to go again, and again…

Whistler pic

Having the time of my life skiing 🙂 

Whistler view

A view from the top of the mountain

Whistler view 2

Truly Heaven on Earth. Doesn’t this look like a painting?

My favourite picture of Whistler 

What did you want to be when you were growing up?

2 thoughts on “Monday Memoirs on Tuesday

Leave a Reply

