Candy Detox

Leo Reynolds / Food Photos / CC BY-NC-SA

Generally, I am not a lover of candy. Well, maybe just a little but it’s usually controllable. That is, until I spend a weekend getaway in Whistler with a group of fabulous women who happen to love their candy. Yep, it happened. I got caught up in the rush of it all and the next thing you know, I have a bright blue tongue and I’m picking chewy bits out of my teeth. Dammit.

Someone mentioned they wanted candy and all of a sudden there I was, jockeying for position in front of about 100 bins of candy. Waiting for the kid in front of me to scoop some mango gummy bears into his plastic bag. I mean, ‘let me help you sweetheart, so we can get on with it’. I am impatient like that.

When the damage was done, I found myself standing in a circle of women outside the candy shop. We couldn’t even wait to get back to our shared condo. Each of us sampling our stash and mumbling a review with our mouths full. As if we were candy connoisseurs. I ended up with sour cola bottles, blackcurrant chewy candy of some sort, some hard candy in a wrapper that caught my eye. It sucked-no pun intended. Then there was my downfall. If there is one candy that I lose my mind over it is salty licorice. Most people I know can’t stand it. As for me? The saltier the better. Dear me, now I’m thinking about it again.

I enjoyed the binge for all of about 15 minutes and then reality set in. What have I done? What do I do now? I think I’m having a panic attack. No wait, that’s a sugar rush.

Needless to say, I can’t believe I did that. But you know what? I did. It was good. Don’t judge (yes, I am speaking to my inner self). Move on.

I have moved on. That is, to the basement, for this work out:

What’s your favourite candy?

8 thoughts on “Candy Detox

Leave a Reply

