Monday Memoirs

Ok, time for me to reflect back on all of the interesting things that happened over the last week. I sometimes wonder if there will be a time when I can’t think of anything. Yikes, I hope that never happens! Now, I’ll quit worrying about that and move on to the three things that stood out:

  • Extra short work week! This was the first year that British Columbia instituted a ‘family day’. It’s a statutory holiday meant for families to spend some time together. This is ironic given that I spent the day with my girlfriends, heading back from our ‘bachelorette’ weekend away. No husbands, no kids. Having said this, I am grateful for my family and our closeness. We don’t take it for granted. Additionally, Friday was a planned day off for school which meant me taking time off work to make sure my son didn’t blow the house up unattended. I initially assumed he’d be out the door with his friends but I lucked out and we spent the day cuddled on the couch watching movies and doing NOTHING. Lovely.
  • I lived another day unscathed. If there’s one thing I love, it’s scary movies. Especially anything that’s ‘paranormal’. My husband and son refused to partake in the experience. So there I was, alone on the couch this Saturday, watching Paranormal Activity No 4 (or 5? 3? I can’t remember). No matter, they are all pretty much the same. I managed to watch the entire thing and make it back to the bedroom without hearing any unexplained thumps in the night, doors inexplicably slamming shut or neighbour kids watching me sleep. These films are creepy and the fact the I haven’t crapped my pajamas is a miracle in and of itself.
  • My ‘crazy parents’ are home! About 7 or 8 years ago, my mom and step dad sailed to Mexico on their boat. They live down there for 6 months and then come back to Canada for 6 months. This year, they came home a little early. They arrived safely this past week but Sunday was the first day we got to see them. It’s was a great visit and I’m looking forward to more Sunday dinners full of stories and good laughs.

Have a great Monday 🙂

4 thoughts on “Monday Memoirs

  1. Wow. Your government made a family day. Neat! I’m with you on scary movies. I KNOW they’re fiction but they have me looking over my shoulder for weeks…

    • Yes, the is the inaugural year of this holiday. It’s nice to have a long weekend in the winter months. Normally I’m not too bothered by scary movies but this one made it hard to sleep.

Leave a Reply

