Operation Detox!

As I stand to shake the crumbs off my shirt and shed my cravings for all things sweet and salty, I give you my latest and greatest detox creation:

detox dinner

Everything green and red from the fridge (and some light feta) with a side of kale chips

This is NOT the perfect salad or even very creative by my standards but nonetheless, here’s the list I generally use to evaluate what’s on my plate:

  • greens and other veggies -I use a lot of spinach, parsley and kale
  • healthy fat (i.e. olive oil, avocado)-have you tried coconut oil? I have been meaning too.
  • protein-I like chickpeas and tuna
  • lots of water on the side! although I am huge tea and ‘potion’ drinker (meaning vitamin and detox teas), oh yeah; then there’s the wine.

To be completely transparent, I chased this plate with a spoonful of peanut butter. I couldn’t help it.

Here is; however, a salad creation I also made and loved this week:

salad

Here is the recipe (I use this term loosely):

1/2 cup fennel

1/2 cup celery

1/2 cup snap peas

1 small or medium apple (I used a Gala)

1/4 cup sliced almonds (it would also be good with walnuts)

Dressing is made up of peach yoghurt (because that’s what I found in the fridge) with some lemon juice mixed in.

Have you eaten something green today?

Leave a Reply

