Monday Memoirs

Every time I ask my son what he thinks of something (anything) he always responds with the word good :

What did you think of the movie? It was good. 

Did you like the pizza? It was good. 

How was school today? Good. 

The list goes on but I assure you, it always ends the same. Good. I asked him why he never uses another word. Surely, there are things that warrant an ‘outstanding’  (because a teenager would use this type of language) or even  an ‘awesome’. He agrees there are things that do warrant more but that he’s just too lazy to say anything else. Really? REALLY? 

Well, on a scale of good, this week was exhausting and amazing. Hell, it’s my scale. Here are some reasons why:

  • Conferences. Sometimes, it’s just nice to get away to a different place, meet new people and learn new things. I was only gone for 2 days but that was just enough time to have a run along the seawall in Vancouver and hear Shane Koyzan. Take a listen to his TED presentation. I am so thankful poetry is good (in the mind blowing, connection to your soul kind of way). 

Sheraton light

I couldn’t help but take a picture of the light fixture in the conference room. It was not good. It was hideous.

  •  Sleep. I generally don’t sleep very well but this week I managed to get some shut eye. It was probably stress. I don’t care why, it was just great to be able to.
  • Friday night drinks. It’s not often that I go out for drinks after work. Usually, I am rushing home for one reason or another. This past Friday, I did stop by the local watering hole to hang out for a couple of drinks. It was great to connect with friends I don’t get to see everyday. Having a few glasses of wine makes the bus ride home seem super fast. Which is good. 

Have a great week 🙂

Leave a Reply

