Cupcakery

Since last Friday, I feel like all I’ve been doing is making cupcakes. I swear I had a dream that my yard was filled with children asking if they can have yet another one. ‘Please ma’am, just one more for the road?’ They kept promising to leave only to return and demand a different flavour. Well that’s just about enough!

It all started with me volunteering to make something for a fundraising cakewalk. Do you remember those? Such a classic event that all kids LOVE. I am not much of a baker but every once in awhile I get into the groove until I manage to wear myself out, which I did.

Here’s the scoop:

cupcake ingredients

This is a fairly inclusive picture of the ingredients used

cupcakes

Into the oven at about 350 degrees

I like to add more than what the back of the cake mix suggests because it just seems to make the cupcakes a bit more moist and flavourful. I also like icing that tastes like something other than just plain old icing sugar.

Cupcake ingredient list:

  • cake mix of your choice (I made two different batches-chocolate and vanilla confetti. I was also going to do lemon but decided I could live with the 50 plus cupcakes I was already creating)
  • pudding mix that is complimentary to your cake mix (I used chocolate and vanilla. If you like lemon, well then use lemon pudding)
  • 4 eggs
  • 1/2 cup oil (you could also use apple sauce)
  • 1/2 cup greek yogurt (or sour cream)

Icing ingredient list:

  • 1/2 cup butter unsalted and warmed up on the counter (don’t microwave it!)
  • 2 cups of icing sugar
  • about 3/4 cup of hazelnut spread (for one flavour of icing-turns out brown)
  • about 3/4 cup of marshmallow mix (for another flavour of icing-turns out white)
  • (If I was doing lemon, I would have tried lemon extract or curd-adding slowly to control the consistency)
  • about 1 tbsp heavy cream
  • some hershey kisses of whatever kind you like (keep them wrapped in the foil -I used the cookies and cream. If it was lemon, I would have used lemon rind or better yet? Stick a lemon lollipop on the top!)

Cupcakes:

  • set the oven for 350 degrees Celsius
  • Mix the whole mess together-doesn’t matter what goes in first or last.
  • Place your batter in some lovely cupcake wrappers-probably about 1/2 full depending on how big you like your cupcakes (as you can see from the pics below, I experimented)
  • Bake for about 18-23 minutes
  • Let them cool completely before icing!

Icing:

  • Mix the butter with your electric mix to get it creamy
  • Add the icing sugar and mix with the butter
  • Add your flavour (hazelnut or marshmallow or lemon)
  • Add just a dash of the heavy cream to a consistency that works for you-I like really thick icing so I can stick the candy into it and I just think it looks pretty.
  • place the icing in an icing bag (I used a plastic disposable one with a monster round tip) or use a knife to ice your cupcakes
  • place your wrapped (or unwrapped) candy on the top! Or be creative and think of something else to stick on the top-paper umbrellas, plastic rings, etc.

Extra special note: if you really wanted to out do yourself, you could stuff your cupcake with filling. An apple corer could work (I’ve used a melon baller) to take the middle of the cooked cupcake out and then fill it with a complimentary filling (strawberry preserve, lemon curd, hazelnut spread, peanut butter are a few ideas). Once you’ve added the filling then ice over the top!

vanilla cupcakecupcake result

The end result of your efforts-a lovely cupcake!

Now watch the kids enjoy your efforts! Or better yet, have a taste test yourself.

2 thoughts on “Cupcakery

    • I enjoy making them for other people (I’m not big on eating them for some reason). If you were here? There’d most certainly be a delivery at your door…even after the cakewalk I seem to have way too many leftovers!

Leave a Reply

